Business

Top 10 transferring massage license from state to state That Will Change Your Life

Below is information and knowledge on the topic transferring massage license from state to state gather and compiled by the nhomkinhnamphat.com team. Along with other related topics like: Colorado massage license transfer from another state, Massage license requirements by state, How do I transfer my massage license to Washington State, Transfer massage license to Montana, How do I transfer my massage license to North Carolina, How do I transfer my massage license to California, How do I transfer my massage license to Georgia, How do I transfer my massage license to Texas.


assage License Valid When You Cross State Lines?

When you get in your car and drive to a neighboring state, your driver’s license is still valid and recognized there without any need for another license. This is because states have a provision that allows licensed drivers to move freely from state to state. But is your massage license still valid when you cross a state line or move from one state to another?

Reciprocity and Endorsement

License reciprocity—or the ability to practice your profession in one state based on holding a license in another—has different meanings for different professions.
True reciprocity does not exist for massage licensees. Your state license, even your national certification, does not allow you to practice massage freely outside your state. Most of the time, a license in the new state must be obtained before you can legally work as a massage therapist. This means filling out an application, paying fees, submitting additional paperwork (license verifications, transcripts, or exam scores), and displaying a lot of patience.

In the massage field, we often use the word endorsement instead of reciprocity when talking about transferring a license to another state. Endorsement refers to the process by which a licensed massage therapist from one jurisdiction (state) becomes licensed in a new jurisdiction (state). For instance, a state board may grant a new license if the massage therapist’s previous license was held in a state or jurisdiction where the licensing requirements are equal to, or exceed those of, the new state.
If you are moving, most state massage board websites have instructions for out-of-state applicants applying for a license by endorsement.

The Problem with Portability

Even with endorsement, the process of obtaining a new massage license can be complicated and expensive. Regulation of massage varied drastically in the past, and it has since changed rapidly. Here are some of the problems frequently seen due to these rapid changes.

Grandfathering

When establishing massage laws and rules, some states issued licenses to applicants who had no formal massage training. It is very difficult for these people to transfer a license, due to their lack of minimum training hours and passage of licensing exams. This means people who were grandfathered into licensure and have safely practiced massage for 30-plus years have a difficult time continuing to practice massage if they move, unless they return to school.

Variations in Minimum Educational Hours

Most states require completion of a minimum of 500 hours of training. A few states require 600, 750, or 1,000 hours. So, what happens when a massage therapist in Texas, where the requirement is 500 hours, moves to Arizona, which requires 700 hours? It is hard to say. Every state is different.
Florida, for example, makes no exceptions for training hours. An applicant must complete 500 hours of training, regardless of experience.
If you do not meet the minimum hours of training for the state in which you wish to obtain a license, contact that state’s board office to see whether they accept applications for a variance.

Xem Thêm:  Top 10 what does an associate attorney do That Will Change Your Life

Licensing Exams

Currently, the MBLEx is the entry-level licensing exam required by most state massage boards. One of the missions of the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB), the administrators of the MBLEx, is:
“Support efforts among member boards to establish compatible requirements and cooperative procedures for the legal regulation of massage therapists in order to facilitate professional mobility and to simplify and standardize the licensing process.”1
However, not every state currently requires completion of an entry-level licensing exam like the MBLEx. Also, there are still a few states that use their own licensing exam in lieu of the MBLEx. For example, Massachusetts did not require a licensing exam for applicants until 2010. If a Massachusetts massage therapist (licensed before 2010) wants to work in Connecticut, according to the Connecticut licensing requirements, the applicant will need to show proof of passing the MBLEx.
Hawaii and New York still have their own state licensing exams. Anyone moving to either of these states must take the state massage exam, even if they previously passed the MBLEx or NCETMB.
The good news is that for most states, you will not need to take a licensing exam again. Your exam scores from a previously passed licensing exam (like the NCETMB or MBLEx) can be “reused” when applying for a new license. It just requires a small fee and filling out a mobility form.

Where to Start

The best thing to do when considering a move is to look at the state board of massage website and application (available at www.abmp.com/practitioners/state-requirements). If you have questions about specific requirements, call or email the state board office. Board office employees have heard nearly every situation that exists in the massage field and will provide you with the most up-to-date information.
Here are a few examples of requirements you may need to complete, along with a new application and license fee.
• Florida: 10-hour Law and Rules course
• Texas: Juris Test
• Background screenings (several states)
• Washington: Four-hour HIV/AIDS course
• Oregon: Practical exam

Can I Have a License in More Than One State?

Yes! One license does not negate the other. If you are living in New York and plan to spend winters in Arizona, there are no regulations that say you can only have one license.  

What If I Am Moving to a State that Has No Massage License?

The number of states that do not require licenses is dwindling. Only a handful remain. States without licensing may still regulate massage or massage establishments at a local level.

The Future of License Portability

In 2017, the Council of Nursing Boards (similar to FSMTB) announced the creation of the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC, www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm). The goal of the NLC is to increase access to care (telehealth or disaster response) while maintaining public protection at the state level. Under the NLC, nurses can practice in other NLC states without having to obtain additional licenses. About 30 states currently take part in the new compact.
Is something similar to this possible in the massage field? With regulations currently all over the place, it is hard to imagine that a similar compact could exist for massage professionals anytime soon. However, wide acceptance of the MBLEx certainly has opened the door to the possibility of license portability. Only time will tell whether it becomes a reality.

Note

1. Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards, “Mission and History,” accessed November 2018, www.fsmtb.org/about-fsmtb/mission-and-history.

Extra Information About transferring massage license from state to state That You May Find Interested

If the information we provide above is not enough, you may find more below here.

Is Your Massage License Valid When You Cross State Lines?

Is Your Massage License Valid When You Cross State Lines?

  • Author: massagetherapy.com

  • Rating: 5⭐ (263056 rating)

  • Highest Rate: 5⭐

  • Lowest Rate: 2⭐

  • Sumary: When you get in your car and drive to a neighboring state, your driver’s license is still valid and recognized there without any need for another license. This is because states have a provision that allows licensed drivers to move freely from state to…

  • Matching Result: True reciprocity does not exist for massage licensees. Your state license, even your national certification, does not allow you to practice massage freely …

  • Intro: Is Your Massage License Valid When You Cross State Lines?When you get in your car and drive to a neighboring state, your driver’s license is still valid and recognized there without any need for another license. This is because states have a provision that allows licensed drivers to move freely…
  • Source: https://www.massagetherapy.com/articles/your-massage-license-valid-when-you-cross-state-lines

Xem Thêm:  Top 10 medical assistant salary in las vegas That Will Change Your Life

State by State Massage Requirements

State by State Massage Requirements

  • Author: nhi.edu

  • Rating: 5⭐ (263056 rating)

  • Highest Rate: 5⭐

  • Lowest Rate: 2⭐

  • Sumary: State by State Massage Requirements

  • Matching Result: If therapist holds certification/licensure from another state, the state board must provide verification directly to the Professional Licensing Agency. County …

  • Intro: State by State Massage Requirements State by State Massage Requirementsfor NHI Graduates Here, you will find an NHI Graduate specific breakdown of massage therapy licensing / certification requirements listed by state. This resource was compiled by NHI staff to assist you if you chose to practice Massage Therapy outside of…
  • Source: https://nhi.edu/massage-therapist-resources/current-student-resources/exclusive-benefits/state-by-state-massage-requirements

Massage License Reciprocity

Massage License Reciprocity

  • Author: massage-therapy-blog.com

  • Rating: 5⭐ (263056 rating)

  • Highest Rate: 5⭐

  • Lowest Rate: 2⭐

  • Sumary: You have your massage license, and now you are moving to another state.How do you obtain a new massage license in the state where you will be residing?

  • Matching Result: The massage field has talked about license portability and reciprocity for years. But as of right now, no two states have identical massage …

  • Intro: Massage License Reciprocity – Massage & Bloggywork You have your massage license, and now you are moving to another state. How do you obtain a new massage license in the state where you will be residing? Will their massage board accept your school, your hours, or the licensing exam you…
  • Source: https://www.massage-therapy-blog.com/license-reciprocity/

How to Transfer A Massage License to Florida

How to Transfer A Massage License to Florida

  • Author: massage-therapy-blog.com

  • Rating: 5⭐ (263056 rating)

  • Highest Rate: 5⭐

  • Lowest Rate: 2⭐

  • Sumary: I have helped a lot (thousands) of massage therapists through this process, as well as gone through it myself. Transferring your license to Florida is a little more complicated than transferring a license to most other states, but by the end of this post…

  • Matching Result: You must show proof of your current state massage license, or any past licenses you have held. To do this, you need to contact the state massage board(s) where …

  • Intro: How to Transfer A Massage License to Florida – Massage & Bloggywork I have helped a lot (thousands) of massage therapists through this process, as well as gone through it myself. Transferring your license to Florida is a little more complicated than transferring a license to most other states, but…
  • Source: https://www.massage-therapy-blog.com/how-to-transfer-a-massage-license-to-florida/

Massage Therapy | Office of the Professions - Nysed

Massage Therapy | Office of the Professions – Nysed

  • Author: op.nysed.gov

  • Rating: 5⭐ (263056 rating)

  • Highest Rate: 5⭐

  • Lowest Rate: 2⭐

  • Sumary: We are currently reviewing documents received during the dates noted below. Applications with education from outside the U.S. usually require a lengthier review process. After you have submitted all your documentation, please allow 6 weeks before submitting a Contact Us Form to request a status…

  • Matching Result: … for your patience and cooperation. ProfessionCurrently Reviewing Items Received Massage Therapists3/12/2021. … Re-register a New York State license.

  • Intro: Massage Therapy | Office of the Professions Welcome to the Office of the Professions’ newly redesigned website. Portions of this site may still be under development, so if you experience any issues or have any questions please submit a Website Feedback Form. For the latest information on COVID-19 issues impacting…
  • Source: https://op.nysed.gov/massage-therapy

Can I Have a Massage License in Multiple States?

Can I Have a Massage License in Multiple States?

  • Author: floridamassage.com

  • Rating: 5⭐ (263056 rating)

  • Highest Rate: 5⭐

  • Lowest Rate: 2⭐

  • Sumary: Let’s answer one of the most common questions from my inbox, “Can I have two massage licenses?” If you are moving or traveling, this is for you.

  • Matching Result: Generally, if you have an active license in a state- you can apply for for endorsement – even if your hours are slightly off. Again, this is …

  • Intro: Can I Have a Massage License in Multiple States? – FloridaMassage.com Here is a question I have seen in my inbox hundreds of times. I have a (insert your state here) massage license and would like to move to Florida and get a Florida massage license. However, I do not…
  • Source: https://www.floridamassage.com/license-multiple-states/

Massage Therapist License Requirements by State

Massage Therapist License Requirements by State

  • Author: massageliabilityinsurancegroup.com

  • Rating: 5⭐ (263056 rating)

  • Highest Rate: 5⭐

  • Lowest Rate: 2⭐

  • Sumary: Life is unpredictable, and in the hands-on profession of massage therapy, unpredictable events can cause unexpected and problematic issues. Learn about massage therapist requirements by state and get your career started off right!

  • Matching Result: Reciprocity. Available through endorsement; At least 18 years old, with a high school diploma or G.E.D.; Hold a current license in another jurisdiction/state …

  • Intro: Massage Therapist License Requirements by State | MMIP Alabama Prerequisites At least 18 years old Has never knowingly performed massage therapy at a sexually-oriented business Has never plead “no contest” to crimes pertaining to prostitution or sexual offense within three years prior to license application Insurance Requirements Personal Liability Coverage…
  • Source: https://www.massageliabilityinsurancegroup.com/state-requirements/

Xem Thêm:  Top 10 how much do apartment maintenance workers make That Will Change Your Life

Frequently Asked Questions About transferring massage license from state to state

If you have questions that need to be answered about the topic transferring massage license from state to state, then this section may help you solve it.

Which state offers the best pay to massage therapists?

Alaska

Which state offers the best massages?

Maine, where the median salary is 1,570, is the best state for massage therapists.

Total Massage Therapist Jobs: 193
Average Annual Salary: $61,570
Lowest 10 Percent Earn: $35,000
Highest 10 Percent Earn: $106,000

1 more row?

Which states recognize the MBLEx test?

The MBLEx is recognized by the following states as part of their licensing requirements: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New…

How can I move my Florida massage license from Ohio?

b>Contact the state massage board(s) where you are/were licensed/b>. They will need to forward proof of your license to the Florida Board of Massage./b> You must present proof of your current state massage license, or any prior licenses you have held.

Can a massage therapist expect to make six figures?

The median annual salary for massage therapists, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is $3,620; the lowest earners in the profession made just $2,580 annually, while those at the top of the field took home over $9,000 annually.

Why did I leave my job as a massage therapist?

It is difficult on your hands, particularly your thumbs, even when you use proper technique and practice self care. Another issue in the field is the fact that a person may be a great massage therapist, but a terrible businessperson.

Why is passing the MBLEx so challenging?

The extensive amount of material covered on the massage exam—including the enormous body of knowledge and range of questions in the anatomy & physiology section alone—is one of the main reasons the MBLEx is challenging for so many test takers.

Is the MBLEx uniform across all states?

No, each regulated state accepts the MBLEx, with the exception of Hawaii and New York, and has its own set of requirements for licensure. You must submit an application in each state where you wish to practice massage.

How much money does a Florida-licensed massage therapist make?

The average annual wage for a massage therapist in Florida is 0,500, but this figure can range from 7,000 to 0,000. Massage therapist salaries in Florida depend on a number of factors, including education, experience, employer, bonuses, tips, and more.

In Florida, can I practice massage without a license?

The laws relating to massage therapy can be found in Florida Statute Chapter 480. You must be a licensed massage therapist to practice massage in the State of Florida. You must also be licensed to operate a massage establishment.

In Florida, is it legal for unlicensed therapists to work?

Without a current license from the Department of Health, it is illegal in Florida to practice, attempt to practice, or offer to practice any regulated healthcare profession, including massage therapy.

Does Florida accept therapists from other states?

Only those who have submitted an application, have an active medical license in another state, have a registered agent in Florida, and have a clear license history with no open investigations or disciplinary actions within the five years prior to applying are permitted to practice medicine in Florida.

In Florida, how much money do therapists make?

Mental health therapist salaries in Florida can range from 0 to 4,000 per year and depend on a number of factors, including skills, experience, employer, bonuses, tips, and more. The average annual salary for a mental health therapist in Florida is 4,500.

Video About transferring massage license from state to state

Rate this post